2014 SAGE AWARDS | October 14, 2014


The SAGE Awards for Dance– An intimate evening with the Minnesota dance community.


The Minnesota SAGE Awards for Dance

Congratulations to all the 2014 SAGE Award Nominees!!!!

Outstanding Dance Performance (2 Awards for the creator(s) of a show, a work or piece of choreography.)

  • Belmont Hotel – COLLIDE Theatrical Dance Company
  • HIJACK at 20: redundant, ready, reading, radish, Red Eye – HIJACK
  • One with Others – Karen Sherman
  • Rooted: Hip Hop Choreographers’ Evening – Maia Maiden
  • The Student – Vanessa Voskuil
  • We Wait In The Darkness – Rosy Simas

Outstanding Dance Performer (2 Awards for a single dancer, dancers in an ensemble or a group)

  • Jeremy BensussanMinnesota Dance Theatre at the Lab Theater, There Is No Myth (Helen Hatch), Golden Boys, KOM HIT! (Sally Rousse and Noah Bremer)
  • Jessica CresseyYOU (Morgan Thorson)
  • Dora DolphinBelmont Hotel (COLLIDE Theatrical Dance Company)
  • Jesse Neumann-PetersonUnder the Current (Sharon Picasso), The Student (Vanessa Voskuil), Azalea Nights (Christine Maginnis/Christopher Watson)
  • Duncan SchultzTU Dance 10th Anniversary Season

Outstanding Dance Ensemble (1 Award for an ensemble or group of any size)

  • Black Label Movement in Wreck – Ashley Akpaka, Lauren Baker, José Bueno, Natalie Carr, Joe Crook, Crystal Edwards, Jessica Ehlert, Patrick Jeffrey, Margaret Johnson, Alyssa Mann, Miriam Castro Sanjuan, Zack Teska, Cheng Xiong
  • James Sewell Ballet in Ballet Works Project and Inferno – Nicky Coelho, Cory Goei, Leah Gallas, Chris Hannon, Anton LaMon, Nic Lincoln, Dominique McDougal, Eve Schulte and Kelly Vittetoe
  • Cast of One with Others – Joanna Furnans, Karen Sherman and Jeffrey Wells
  • Eastview Step Team in NOSTALGIA– Ashuna Moore, Selena Ku, Corina Seuasoukseng, Kim Pham, Javonte Ealey, Jasmin Cox and Dominique Horton

Outstanding Design (2 Awards for an artist or group of artists in the areas of costume design, lighting design, music composition, sound design, set design, film, video or installation)

  • Costume design for HIJACK at 20: redundant, ready, reading, radish, Red EyeNaomi Joy
  • Film and set design for We Wait in the DarknessRosy Simas
  • Lighting Design for SenZalma (Contempo Physical Dance) – Mike Grogan
  • Music, lighting and stage design for Wreck (Black Label Movement) – Carl Flink, Mary Ellen Childs, Marcus Dillard, Phillip O’Toole and Joseph Bingham
  • Sound and scenic/prop design and construction for One with Others - Karen Sherman

Outstanding Dance Educator (1 Award for a dance educator/teacher for their commitment and accomplishment in the field of dance education.)

  • Kenna-Camara Cottman
  • Judith Howard
  • Julie Kerr-Berry

Special Citation (1 Award for anyone who has a strong connection to the field of dance in Minnesota, including past efforts or work from past seasons.)

  • Bryant Lake Bowl
  • DanceMN
  • Michèle Steinwald
  • Young Dance

The Minnesota Sage Awards for Dance
Recognizing and celebrating Minnesota’s vibrant dance community for the past ten years
October 14, 2014
Tuesday at 7:30 p.m.

The Cowles Center for Dance & The Performing Arts
in the Goodale Theater
528 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55403

$20 General Admission
$15 Students and Seniors

Visit our new Facebook page for updates on the coming event!


Catch a glimpse of the Sage Awards – – 


Since 2005, the Minnesota SAGE Award’s have been presented annually to honor choreographers, dancers, educators, presenters, scenic and lighting designers, visual artists and others who continue to make the Twin Cities a national center of dance. This important celebration and recognition for local artists is named in honor of Sage Cowles with heartfelt appreciation for all she has done for Minnesota dance. The awards were created to celebrate the dance community and bring national attention to the tremendous amount of high caliber dance activity in the Twin Cities. Dana Kassel and Stuart Pimsler serve as coordinators for the SAGE Awards in collaboration with an advisory panel representing the Twin Cities dance community. The Cowles Center generously supports the SAGE Awards program. The current panel is in place and seeing work until the next season ends on August 31st. If you are interested in having your work seen and considered by the panel, please send a brief announcement of your show to news(at)dancemn.org . Deadline for the inclusion in each Wednesday’s newsletter is Monday at noon. As requested by the community, the SAGE presentation evening has been held at several of the Twin Cities dance venues. Thank you to all of those who joined us for past events. To see a listing of award recipients and view photos of the past four award ceremonies, go to the Past Events page. Many thanks to the the Cowles Center, McKnight Foundation, HRK Foundation, Target Foundation & Dancing Fair for their financial support.