2015 SAGE AWARDS | October 13, 2015


The SAGE Awards for Dance– An intimate evening with the Minnesota dance community.


The Minnesota SAGE Awards for Dance

The Minnesota SAGE Awards for Dance will present the 12th annual awards event at The Cowles Center for Dance & The Performing Arts on  Tuesday, October 18, 2016.

Buy tickets your today!

   Visit our Facebook page for details on the event

Congratulations to all the 2016 SAGE Awards Nominees

 Special Citation

Afoutayi Dance, Music & Arts Company

Derek Phillips

Right Here Showcase


Outstanding Educator


Mary Harding


Outstanding Performer

Christine Maginnis – 4 Duets and One Other

Judith Howard – PEOPLE I KNOW:9×22

Laurie Van Wieren Solo in …exactly like that

Non Edwards – Monkey Bar, Stuck or Unstuck, Giantessence, DECOLABIA, Who Moved My Child

PaviElle French – Ovarian Fortitude

Sachiko “La Chayi” Nishiuchi Noche Gitana


Outstanding Performance

Any Offered None – Eve Schulte


Grey Skies Blue– Shapeshift

Lorca’s Women – Zorongo Flamenco Dance Theatre

Merge – Black Label Movement & Contempo Physical Dance

Ovarian Fortitude – PaviElle French


Outstanding Design

Film Reflections on Ice: Climate Change in Peru – Leila Awadallah

Lighting design for Here Now – Mark Ruark

Set design, Costume & Make-up for Burger Queen//Dairy King – Stephanie Stoumbelis

Set Designs for Stripe and Spot (Learn to) Get Along, Four Saints in Three Acts, & afterwind – Paul Herwig


Outstanding Ensemble

Cast of In A+ We Trust – Alan Mure, Mimi Solis, Zhane Jackson, Luis Nufio, Mary Hayes, Lydia Jones, Raphael Dow, Mia Johnson                      

Cast of DECOLABIA – Anna Marie Shogren, Arwen Wilder, Dolo McComb, Julia Bither, Katelyn Farstad, Kristin Van Loon, Liz Nelson, Non Edwards, Sally Rousse, Susan McKenna, Taryn Griggs

Cast of Of Something Human – Leslie O’Neill, Timmy Wagner, Dustin Haug

S.H.E. (She Who Holds Everything) in 9th Inning- Aaliyah Elfstrom, Ashley Yangtao, Averie Mitchell-Brown, Bella Roberts, Destiny Anderson, Iman Siferllah-Griffin, Jaylen Franklin, Joelle Fernandez, Khadijah Siferllah-Griffin, Kylie Redding, Mia Johnson, Rachel Harris



Since 2004, the Minnesota SAGE Award’s have been presented annually to honor choreographers, dancers, educators, presenters, scenic and lighting designers, visual artists and others who continue to make the Twin Cities a national center of dance.

This important celebration and recognition for local artists is named in honor of Sage Cowles with heartfelt appreciation for all she has done for Minnesota dance. The awards were created to celebrate the dance community and bring national attention to the tremendous amount of high caliber dance activity in the Twin Cities. Dana Kassel and Stuart Pimsler serve as coordinators for the SAGE Awards in collaboration with an advisory panel representing the Twin Cities dance community. The Cowles Center, HRK Foundation, Dancing Fair and the McKnight Foundation generously supports the SAGE Awards program.

As requested by the community, the SAGE presentation evening has been held at several of the Twin Cities dance venues. Thank you to all of those who joined us for past events. To see a listing of award recipients and view photos of the past award ceremonies, go to the Past Events pages.