2015 SAGE AWARDS | October 13, 2015


The SAGE Awards for Dance– An intimate evening with the Minnesota dance community.


The Minnesota SAGE Awards for Dance

SAGE Awards Will Gracefully Exit

The Minnesota SAGE Awards for Dance has announced that it will gracefully exit, effective immediately. After twelve years of continued programming, SAGE Award co-coordinators Dana Kassel and Stuart Pimsler have decided to conclude operations. Both coordinators expressed similar reasons for their decisions.

For twelve years, the SAGE Awards addressed an important need in the Minnesota dance community – engaged conversations about artistic quality conducted by an anonymous panel of peers. Along the way, panelists challenged each other in dialogues focusing on aesthetics, identity, access, diversity and power. Our hope is that these types of conversations will continue in other formal and informal situations. We thank the community that has continued to support the SAGE Awards with much enthusiasm, as panelists, performers, and audience, as well the venues and artists that have generously provided tickets to the panels.

The decision to exit is intentional and not the result of any financial deficits. We are proud of our achievements including the production and curating of twelve awards ceremonies, the honoring of hundreds of Minnesota dance artists and the commissioning of local and national artists to create the SAGE Award. Our most memorable moments were being present for the passionate conversations by artists in advocating for work that moved them.”

About The Minnesota SAGE Awards for Dance

Since 2004, the Minnesota SAGE Awards have been presented annually to honor choreographers, dancers, educators, presenters, scenic and lighting designers, visual artists and others who continue to make the Twin Cities a national center of dance. The awards, named in honor of the late Sage Cowles, were created to celebrate the dance community and bring national attention to the tremendous amount of high caliber dance activity in the Twin Cities.

The Minnesota SAGE Awards for Dance are made possible by the McKnight Foundation, Dancing Fair, HRK Foundation, Barre and The Cowles Center for Dance & The Performing Arts.

Thanks to all who attended the Minnesota SAGE Awards for Dance 12th and final awards event at The Cowles Center for Dance & The Performing Arts on  Tuesday, October 18, 2016.

   Visit our Facebook page for details on the event

Congratulations to 2016 SAGE Awardees!

2016 SAGE Awards Special Citation – Derek Phillips

2016 Outstanding Educator – Gadu Doushin

2016 Outstanding Performers – Judith Howard & Christine Maginnis

2016 Outstanding Performance – Lorca’s Women – Zorongo Flamenco Dance Theatre & Ovarian Fortitude – PaviElle French

2016 Outstanding Design – Film Reflections on Ice: Climate Change in Peru – Leila Awadallah & Set design, Costume & Make-up for Burger Queen//Dairy King – Stephanie Stoumbelis

2016 Outstanding Ensemble – S.H.E. (She Who Holds Everything) in 9th Inning- Aaliyah Elfstrom, Ashley Yangtao, Averie Mitchell-Brown, Bella Roberts, Destiny Anderson, Iman Siferllah-Griffin, Jaylen Franklin, Joelle Fernandez, Khadijah Siferllah-Griffin, Kylie Redding, Mia Johnson, Rachel Harris

To see a listing of award recipients and view photos of the past award ceremonies, go to the Past Events pages.